My 10 Favorite Albums and Top 6 Songs of 2013

I can’t say these are the best albums of 2013 as I haven’t heard all of them, but here are ten of my favorites from this year for posterity’s sake.

Image

Daft Punk – Random Access Memories

David Bowie – The Next Day

Robert DeLong – Just Movement

John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts

Green Day – Tre! (released Dec 2012 but was supposed to be released 2013)

HAIM – Days are Gone

Janelle Monáe – The Electric Lady

Josh Ritter – Beast in its Tracks

Alice Smith – She

Thundercat – Apocalypse

 

I consider Daft Punk’s album the highlight of the year and ranked it #1 for the personal Top 10 list that I sent over to PopMatters. You can see the compiled list of Top 75 Best Albums of 2013 here: http://www.popmatters.com/feature/177166-the-75-best-albums-of-2013/ where I wrote the blurbs for Pale Green Ghosts (#68) and The Beast in Its Tracks (#71). The rest of the albums in the list are albums I really enjoyed and got a lot of play. In particular, I must have listened to Josh Ritter’s album the most of any this past year so that would be #2 for me, but the rest of them I don’t think I can rank. I saw Ritter at Toad’s Place in New Haven for coverage at PopMatters and here is a direct link to a video I captured of the track “A Certain Light”: http://youtu.be/CGyNFPJPqlk

 

Other favorite albums and artists that I could include if I expanded the list would be Pearl Jam’s Lightning Bolt and the albums from Houndmouth, Chvrches, Mogwai and Sigur Ros.

And since I had mentioning favorite songs, beyond that track, here are a few others that got a lot of play

1) Robert DeLong – “Global Concept”

2) Cut Copy – “We are Explorers”

3) The Killers – “Shot at the Night” (cheesey-ish ’80s / end of the drinking night sing along)

4) The Head and the Heart – “Another Story”

5) Moby – “The Perfect Life”

6) Kanye West – “Black Skinhead”



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.